Wardrobe: Edit

Remember when I posted about the Un-Fancy Project and threatened to scale down my wardrobe to a few key pieces?

Well, I DID IT!

(and yes, a cat print dress is definitely a key piece in my closet)

It didn’t happen at all like I wanted it to. No, this went down in a passionate moment when you’re putting clothes away and they just keep falling out of your closet, all about an hour before you’re expecting a crew of 8 people and children for lunch. All on an afternoon dedicated to celebrating the arrival of your french brother, unseen since the year 2000.

closet

I could think of NO BETTER TIME to throw myself  into a project like this. Sometimes I wonder what the hell is wrong with me.

Contrary to what you would expect, this took about an hour and once I started editing, it was super quick AND fun. I pared down my summer closet to these 33 items (not including shoes & pyjamas & workout+farm & special events pieces).

4 skirts

2 shorts

4 pants

5 dresses

4 tee shirts

4 tank tops

5 long sleeve tops

3 cardigans

The pieces that were too small or fit awkwardly went in a giveaway pile and the rest went into a bin for the fall. The level of excitement I have, every morning when I open my super bare closet, is quite unparalleled. I’ve even gotten into planning my clothes for the next day as I’m going to bed.

Not only is it easier to get dressed, but I now know what things I actually need (white tee shirt. khaki shorts- I only have pink shorts?) to replace in the future. Now, I’m no , but I see real freedom and a creative push to work within these tighter parameters.


“The thought of reclaiming the driver’s seat can feel overwhelming, but even small changes can make a huge difference. The simple choice of wearing a work uniform has saved me countless wasted hours thinking, “what the hell am I going to wear today?” And in fact, these black trousers and white blouses have become an important daily reminder that frankly, I’m in control.”

Kahl- Harpers’ Bazaar read the full article here.

saatchiDress like Mathilda Day at Saatchi & Saatchi SoHo Office

credit: Michele Daly


You could also take a look at the home sewing movement and the community of people taking control of their wardrobes… The Colette Wardrobe Architect comes to mind: a year long project dedicated to organizing, planning and sewing a seasonal wardrobe that reflects your own intentional style rather than the accidental Winners or GAP purchase

As the stores increase their seasons, and the containers of merchandise keep flowing in from China , I read and hear more stories of everyday women leaning towards the simplification of everyday decisions. Whether it’s in food, in clothing, or in the home front,  we seem to be drawn towards the stories of the people that are opting out of the conventional idea that more is more.

I am guilty of splurging on impulse Urban Outfitters statement pieces, while I have NOT ONE WHITE TEE SHIRT or tank top (maybe I don’t like wearing white?).  What do you have too much of in your closet, or what do you not have any of?

Leave a Reply

