Friday Night : Self Care

Remember when Fridays were all about the thrill of the Friday Night? What to wear, where to go, who to meet ?!

IMG_3661
Well fast forward 15 years and Friday night has a completely different meaning.

I have started taking Friday evenings as my home spa time. A excuse to play with everyday products and whip up a little batch of something!

See, on Fridays, we’re home by 3h15- pretty early by my standards! But that gives us plenty of time to unwind and start to let the week melt away. We have a strict no screen policy on school days, but Friday afternoons? All rules fall to the wayside! They are these glorious moments when everyone can take an hour or so and just zone out. Pia plays with the cats, Mateo plays Mindcraft and Luca farts around on the tablet.

And me? I’m hiding in the bath reading and thinking about how happy I’ll be in my caftan when I get out.

The latest Friday Night Spa Recipe is a face rub/mask, a bit on the goopy side, but it feels amazing once you wipe it off.

Oatmeal Honey Coconut Scrub:

1/2 cup oatmeal (I whizz mine in the food processor)
1 tbsp coconut oil
2 tbsp honey
Squeeze lemon juice
1 tsp baking soda

Makes enough for 2 masks/rubs

The oatmeal and lemon act as balancers that even out redness. The coconut oil and honey are the emollients that help hydrate and smooth while the grit of the baking soda helps exfoliate the build up of the week.

Taking this time to do such a little thing that gives me so much joy, well that’s so much more sustainable than a wild night out with pink heels and lipstick to match followed by that two day hangover to boot (someone PLEASE tell me how I can have a 2 beer hangover, HOW IS THAT POSSIBLE??) Not that I don’t love the fact that I had almost a decade of those wild nights that I will vaguely remember forever, but at this point, I’ll take the bath salts over the tequila shot ANY night!

Xo
Happy long weekend!

Leave a Reply

