Classic Scones with Rhubarb Compote:

Or what might become a Sunday Tradition?

IMG_4091

We had visitors from far and beyond yesterday and it was the perfect opportunity for me to straighten up the house, move some things around and just feel like I was taking care of these walls that protect us. It was the ultimate day for that, as the rain fell and the mist in the back fields lingered around, I felt like I was in a period British movie. Except there was no Collin Firth in sight. Only Pikachu, the matted barn kitten.

for the first time in awhile, I felt domestic and eager to tidy up.

Since school has been out, we’ve had reduced children over here, two of them being deployed to the townships where they fished trout and ate ice cream in pyjamas… a nice way to start the vacation, if I can say so myself. That little break from the boys helped me recognize that in my everyday I feel fried and insane about 85% of the time. That feeling was GONE when they weren’t here. how odd! I felt relaxed and more or less able to focus. See,  I’ve almost trained myself to think that the amount of action and energy produced by a triad of children doesn’t impact me. DUH… how could it not?

My insanity is only a reaction to being interrupted, mediating arguments, picking up dirty socks?

HUZZAH!

Bref,  my break re-revealed what I knew all along: that parenting a brood of 3 happy but LOUD children is a crazy exhausting job!

get on with it… this is a post about scones!

My family has two very accomplished bakers… and guess what.. I am not one of them! My mother and sister are essentially baking perfection embodied. Everything they make (kiwi sorbet excluded) is elegantly delicious and really, if we, as a family, were to ever open a bakery/café, it would be insane. Alas, my own skills are not so elegantly perfect, and as you know, my capacity for following instructions is mediocre at best. Not the best primer for baking. Nonetheless, in my newly inspired domesticity, I stole the scone recipe from their baking bible and set to work to offer my guests something to nible on:

Regan Daley’s In The Sweet Kitchen.

This kick ass baking book is a MUST-HAVE reference in any culinary library. It was published a number of years ago, but is readily available online and can be ordered through any independent book store, Appetite For Books comes to mind.

I had some rhubarb cubes on hand, harvested from my mother’s enormous patch.  I threw those in with about 2/3 cup brown sugar and two star anise pods and cooked it down until it was an unsavory looking, delicious nonetheless, brown mush.

Scones:30 minutes start to finish

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • ¼ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup unsalted butter, cold, cut into small bits
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • ¼ cup whole milk (3.5%)
  • 5 tablespoons heavy cream (35%) I didn’t have any on hand, so I added more milk
  • Additional whipping cream for brushing scones (about 1 tablespoon)
  • Additional 1 tablespoon granulated sugar, for sprinkling

(I’m going to Emelinify the instructions)

Bake at 425 for 15 minutes

Whisk Dry ingredients

Cut Butter in to dry ingredients

Whisk egg and add milk, throw wet into dry. Mix until combined – DON’T OVERMIX

Roll out onto floured surface and pat down a 7″ circle (the dough is kind of sticky and uneven) or so the dough is 1″ thick and cut out circles using a glass or cookie cutter. The recipe says it makes 6, but I think I got 9 littler ones out 1 batch and they were just the right size.

Eat directly off the baking tray.

The only thing that was missing from my tea tray was some homemade butter. But that’s for the next house tour.

2 thoughts on “Classic Scones with Rhubarb Compote:

Leave a Reply

