The Hot, The Sweaty, The Facemask…

This intense heat is so great for so many things, and then not so great for others:

Like my hair.

Or my face.

Or most of my body parts.

My skin feels like it needs to shed an entire layer of sweat, dirt and grime…

DIY FACEMASK TO THE RESCUE!

So on Friday, as per my usual spa-afternoon, I whipped up a non-yoghurt face mask. It’s VERY hard to find non-yoghurt face masks. You might be asking yourself, “Emeline, why no yoghurt?” and I would call you a stupid bitch and hang up on you gently remind you that yoghurt is not part of my reality because of its inherent grossness and acidity. I will not discuss this again. And I will certainly NEVER PUT YOGHURT ON MY FACE.

So moving along, I researched for a bit and decided on this basic recipe, tweaking it ever so slightly. I whipped it up, let it sit for 20 minutes, changed out of my super-sweaty-from-just-standing-there-clothes, slipped on my caftan and tied up my hair in to a mother of a top knot.

I had recently taken out this book at the library, and Bruno had recently brought back some patio chairs with super comfy cushions AND I had fashioned a coffee table with some cinder blocks and a piece of plywood… (sounds like a five star spa, I know!)

{my reading material for the face mask break- which is AMAZING. Every recipe makes me go… mmmm, I want to make that, which is rare for me in this age of over-information}

My relaxation station was ready to receive me…

reading material…CHECK

seating arranged… CHECK

beverage poured (my famed lemon water)… CHECK

kids sorted CHECK… (screens CAN be useful)

I applied my facemask (not to be applied when you have guests coming, btw- it’s quite dark and you end up looking like an Appalachian Coal Miner from a 1986 issue of National Geographics) and set out on my relaxation activity.

AND HOW!!

cacao mask

DIY COCOA FACEMASK:

2 tbsp cocoa

2 tbsp coffee (ground)

2 tbsp sugar

1 tsp honey

1 egg

mix it all together and let it sit for 20 minutes before you apply. Paint it on and let it dry for at least 20 minutes. Wipe off with cool facecloth.

Get ready to be blown away by how smooth and clean your face feels!

Leave a Reply

