The Bi-Annual Hair Cut

IMG_4449

So if you’ve been following along, you might remember that back in April, I stopped using shampoo. Full stop. Baking soda and Apple Cider Vinegar replaced the shampoo and conditioner bottles in my sad little bathroom upstairs. And really, there has been no looking back for me.

I even forgot to bring my hair accoutrements to my parents’ house and ended up using some Infusium and my hair felt so so so heavy and gross.
My fate as a No Poo girl was sealed. This summer I was washing my hair about once every 4 days. Glorious! The less maintenance the better!

However, after a long sunny summer, and many dips in the pool, my hair got fried. Like rat nest fried. Like dreadlock fried. Like it took me 1 hour and a half cup of coconut oil to get them out.

UPDATE: That’s way too much coconut oil and now after a shampoo, I still look like a slicked rat.

But boy does it feel good! I seriously considered cutting my ponytail off with some pinking shears, but remembered I had a client meeting on Friday, so no dice. No, a proper hair style change is in order.

I’m talking bold.
I’m talking short.
I’m talking…
WHIPPY CAKE!

IMG_4442

IMG_4443

I may also want black overalls

Super cropped bob with length in the front and maybe I’ll keep a few longer locks in the back too, but I’m itching to have my nape free of dreadlocks.

I don’t think I’ll go full bleach on the color (read above about maintenance and I’ve bleached my hair in the past – ouchies!!!!!)

Wendy from Sweet Chops (hairdresser doesn’t really do her justice as a label) is on board and I’m so excited to return to short hair.
Mermaid hair, I’VE ADORED YOU! We’ll meet again, one day when I’m all silvery white, but until then… I’m looking forward to shorter locks and less weight on my shoulders.

Yay!
Speaking of new dos… What do we think of the new blog look? Yay? Nay? I was really dying for a mega do-over, but settled on just a new template while I figure out what I want in terms of web presence.

So I’m genuinely asking for feedback..

What you like, what you don’t, what types of posts tire you and what lights you up…
I find it hard to ask for this kind of feedback. I have to reveal myself as a blogger? As a blogger who writes for an audience of 15 … when maybe she wants to write for more?
Cheers!

3 thoughts on “The Bi-Annual Hair Cut

  1. OMG! Is your hair purple??? How did I not know this! It’s been too long. I love the cyber connection but I miss the real time one. You’ll look sweet with the whippy cake! xo

  2. Ohhhhh… I thought that’s what you meant by mermaid hair! Ha! I could never go without shampoo. Never. You’re my hair hero. Can’t wait to see the next round of pix.

Leave a Reply

