The Artist’s Way

IMG_5564

{gouache, watercolor & india ink}

A few months ago, I was given the opportunity to work with a life coach in- training and more recently, I had the privilege of following along on a 4 week intensive online workshop that revisited a lot of the same material that I covered in my coaching sessions, but in a different framework.

Like most things in my life, if you’d told me a year ago that I would be into this stuff, I probably would have made fun of myself, but alas, you never know what the future holds, do you?

I surprised myself by truly enjoying both of those experiences and since, I’ve gotten stupidly excited about doing things like logging my time, writing out goals, setting out action plans and iterating my values. Taking a bit of time to hash these things out has helped me make space in my brain- I’ve also adopted a Brain Dump system in my planner- a blank space where I download all the little things I remind myself to do. And amazingly, it’s been really useful and not overwhelming, like I had feared.

Once my workshop was over, I knew I needed to keep going and via my podcast crush, the Jealous Curator, I picked up on something that she kept referencing to in a few of her interviews, in one with Lisa Congdon specifically. susannabauer1

 

Did you do the Artist’s Way?ย ย  I heard in the interview and my brain took a mental note that although at this moment I had not done it, that even without knowing anything about it, I knew I was going to do it, like it and want to talk about it. In the same way I committed to black overalls, my fingers led me straight to Amazon and within hours, the book was purchased and en route.

I didn’t even wait to get it, I started the very next morning. 3 morning pages. Done.

I’m fairly certain that 50% of you already know about this, but for those who don’t… The Artist’s Way is a 12 week creative recovery class that uses three main principles:

Morning Pages : 3 pages of journaling, written first thing in the morning.

Weekly Tasks: writing exercises based on the week’s thematic.

Artist’s Dates: outings to places that serve as inspiration to your inner artist.

Note: This book has a STRONG spiritual context and her main argument is that creativity is the manifestation of a spirit, the Universe, God… whatever Woo Woo thing you look up to.

TASK from Week 4:

Time Travel: Remember yourself at 8 years old. What did you like to do? What were your favorite things? Now write a letter from you at eight to you at your current age. What would you tell yourself?

I can’t claim to know what’s on the other side of the twelve weeks (I’m on week 4), but I know for sure that it’s helped me realize that this paiting that I’ve been doing, it’s something. It’s a something that stems from a long long time ago, when my favorite book was Modern Art, I rememberย  the hard red leather cover and gold embossed lettering. It stems from my first art museum visit, my mother taking me to see Marc Chagall and me loving the flying women and horses. The painting makes sense when I remember my childhood obsession with impressionist paintings and loose English gardens.

So I take an hour in the morning and I sit to write, I do my mini-meditation and my 7 minute workout and it may not be perfect, but as I find myself in a new parenting phase, I’m happy to reconnect with myself.

It’s no coincidence that as soon as I picked this book up, everyone around me had either done the Artist’s Way, had in on their shelves or credited it for some major life changes. I like to think that it was just as eager to find me, as I was to find it.

I would be SO SO SO excited to talk about it more if anyone is interested in doing it, or just knowing more about it. And if you feel like you need a little extra something, I can guarantee that just doing the Morning Pages (3 pages of loose writing, but consistent NO SKIPPING!!) will be a source of wonder for you.

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Artist’s Way

  1. OMG! I couldn’t get past day 2 of the morning pages. FOUR TIMES!!!! Of course my hubby completed the course, no problem. I just can’t seem to get into it. Maybe 5th time’s the charm?

Leave a Reply

