Lilac Abundance 

 My sister is here for the week. She brings a sense of peace and consistency while Bruno is away. The kind of laughter that only happens with sisters. 

  
Since we no longer have my parents’ house to play in, Garbarino Acres has become our default home base, where we can hopefully maintain some of our domestic rituals. Jam making, pastry baking, more elaborate meals.. Those were all par for the course at my parents’ house. And while this kitchen doesn’t yet offer all the comforts of my mother’s kitchen… It’s the one that we’ve got and when my sister is here, I often want to experiment in the kitchen. 

I’ve mentioned the 3 Fois Par Jour Magazine before, but yesterday, in the middle of a crappity crap crap week, I remembered that it was the day of the summer issue release. And so I ran to the pharmacy and there it was.

  

This is a quarterly, independently published (read ad-free) lifestyle magazine. You can find recipes, articles, how-to pieces and spectacular styling. It’s got a slow-living angle that is a nice change of pace from a lot of the lifestyle/design stuff out there. 

I had seen a sneak peak for a lilac lemonade recipe on their IG stream and since my lilacs are in full bloom and are surprisingly resisting looking fantastic as cut flowers, my sister and I decided to try our hand at making both lilac syrup and elderberry syrup for fancy lemonades. 

  
  First… Anything on a marble top  looks good. 
Second…. Anything with 3 cups of sugar will be good? Anything with vodka will be delicious tonight, and I’m not even a vodka drinker. 

Third… Lilac is probably the prettiest little flower ever. 

Lilac Syrup (any flower or herb can work) 

3cups sugar

3cups water 

1 L mason jar filled with lilac blooms 

1/2 lemon, squeezed 

Combine water and sugar in a saucepan.

Melt over medium heat until the sugar is dissolved. Let stand until you can easily put your finger in it without scalding yourself. Squeeze in the juice of the lemon.

Fill your mason jar (or any other large vessel with lid) with the lilac blooms and then pour the syrup over top. Stir it with a wooden spoon and then refrigerate for 48 hours. 

Strain well and serve one part syrup to 4 parts sparkling water for a deliciously refreshing drink.

OR. 

One part syrup, one part vodka, juice of another lemon and top with sparkling water for a nice “let’s forget all the crap that the week brought on and enjoy this moment” drink. 

   

   
Have a lovely weekend! 

Xo

5 thoughts on “Lilac Abundance 

  1. So pretty. I’ve got 9 little girls coming for a sleepover this weekend. This would be right up their alley. Minus the vodka which is perfectly up mine. Missing you!

    1. MISSSSS YOU!! SO MUCH! omg, they would love it… it’s delicious and light and sweet… plus you can make it more purpley if you want! I think you can also do it with a variety of other flowers too..

    1. you’re going to go BANANAS over it! I have all the back issues… I’m happy to bring them over… OMG you should interview her… she’s doing biiiiiiiig things!

Leave a Reply

